Halloween costumes for the family

When children are young (I’m talking less than 3 years old), parents get to choose their Halloween costumes. That’s why my son was dressed as a Bumblebee when he was 10 months old. He was still crawling and looked absolutely adorable with the little stinger on his backside swaying side to side as he scuttled about. The next year, he was a dog – cute flappy ears and whiskers drawn on his cheek. Then the tide started to turn. For his third Halloween, he was Batman and from there he’s been a knight, a power ranger and this year he is set on being a ninja.

My message here: Get them while they are young. Dress them as bunnies or pumpkins or as my sister-in-law did, you could dress a younger child as a chicken. Yup, my nephew was a chicken when he was 2. 

Another trend I’ve been seeing out there is family costumes. Parents can get in on the action too! Here are some of my favorites:

Dad as pirate and son as parrot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The BLT family

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other ideas:

Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Wolf

Crayola Crayons

Disney characters – think Peter Pan and Toy Story

Group traditional costumes – think witch and vampire

Addams Family

If you have other great Family Halloween costume ideas, let us know!

