Our Sister, Amy!

I know I have been writing a lot about raising siblings but I’m also a sibling too. Have you considered what kind of sibling you have been to your own brother(s) or sister(s)? I truly believe the two relate. My relationships with both of my sisters certainly influence how I am raising my own children. Do me a favor, (after you read this post!) take time to contemplate the positive ways your sibling(s) have touched your life. What did they teach you?

Heather and I have a lot in common. Always have. We graduated high school on the same day, got married within months, share a duplex with our families – we wrote a book together for goodness sakes. But there is someone in our lives that truly taught us about siblinghood – someone that lived in our home, witnessed us grow into annoying teenagers and absent college students and this someone is our little sister, Amy.

Amy is six years younger than us and of course that means there has always been some degrees of separation, especially when it comes to life circumstances. Heather and I were boarding a school bus while Amy was still wearing a bib. We were off to college when she was barely a tween. We were getting married when she became of “legal” age.
Regardless of our age difference, we have some pretty funny memories. I used to pull her out of her crib and set her up with pillows all around (she couldn’t sit up by herself yet) and read book after book. She was such a good audience – just staring at the page and then into my eyes as if asking for another story. I think we did that for hours.
Heather and I used to load her onto a wagon, attach the wagon to our bike and pull Amy around the neighborhood. One time I noticed that the bike was getting easier to pedal and I looked back to see Amy laying in the road! Luckily, she was wearing a snowsuit – it cushioned her fall.
As we got older she stole my clothes and told on me a lot but we stuck up for one another and did some things that we will take to the grave together.
Amy is now my “cool” sister (no, offense Heather). She takes me shopping and tells me what is “in” and what is “not.” Unfortunately, the stores that are ‘in’ means that I can afford a pair of socks there and nothing else.

Amy smiles a lot. She has her share of frustrating moments: “Here are the twins and this is Amy” crap. To answer the question that I get a lot – “Is this hard on Amy – having you and Heather with so many things in common?” My answer is – “I bet yes.” But it has shaped her into her own person with the ability to think for herself .

What I learned from Amy
1.) What I wanted to do with my life- work with children.
2.) To think of others. She is so good at caring and thinking of our parents’ needs.
3.) How to be a good sport – she had to have patience to deal with the “little sister” gig.

I will add onto this list as I think of Amy. Amy, when you read this. Now how proud I am to have you as my sister. Thanks for the lessons only you could have taught.
– Lisa

