Handling Behavior

1231My Mom had a look. It was the look that sealed the deal. If I was misbehaving or about to make a poor choice – I got the look and then I immediately (well, in most cases) backed down. It was a simple form of behavior management. It was non-emotional, non-confrontational and non-negotionable. Most parents nowadays spend more time talking, explaining and not enough time managing behavior -putting an end to things that are not acceptable. Guess what? In this book I am about to recommend to you1-2-3 Magic dangerous and destructive behavior AND whining is not acceptale!

This book was written by Dr. Thomas Phelan. He is ‘a registered clinical psychologist and an internationally renowned expert on child discipline and Attention Deficit Disorder’ and this book is brillant! It offers beahvior management that really, REALLY works. About two years ago my husband and I got away for a night. We went out to dinner and then stopped in a quaint bookstore to get some warm drinks and browse. I was scanning the parenting section and came across it. I sat down and read the whole thing in 30 minutes. I filled my husband in and began the work the very next day.

Now I am proud to say that all I need to do to stop the whining is 1 finger up…oh and a bit of a look. Let me know what you think!
Lisa

ParentMagic, Inc. is the leading resource for parenting solutions that are easy-to-learn and proven to work. Developed by Dr. Thomas Phelan, a registered clinical psychologist and an internationally renowned expert on child discipline and Attention Deficit Disorder.

ParentMagic’s books, videos and DVDs include the popular 1-2-3 Magic program, Surviving Your Adolescents and All About Attention Deficit Disorder. Since 1984, Dr. Phelan has spoken to hundreds of thousands of parents and professionals. He continues with a full schedule of parenting seminars today.

ParentMagic, Inc. is dedicated to helping parents build strong, positive relationships with their children and overcome the stress that can take the fun out of parenting. We offer easy-to-learn parenting solutions that WORK — for age groups from toddlers through adolescents

