We’ve All Got (sibling) Issues

Last night, Lisa and I had a great time presenting to members of the Metrowest Mothers & More group on all-things siblings. Yeah, we stand in front of the crowd with our fancy presentation and silly stories, but we always walk away learning something new. Moms have a lot of ideas when it comes to taming the sibling rivalry in their own home.  Here are just a few of the issues that came up and responses from fellow moms and/or Lisa and I.

If you have an issue you’d like to throw our way, please post a comment and we’ll get back to you!

Issue: “My boys were at each other’s throats as soon as they wake up in the morning!”

Idea: “Boys have a lot of energy and aggression. Maybe try to start the day on a positive note by getting them moving and physical with a quick walk.”

Issue: “My children share a room. What do I do when one of my sons has a friend over and they want to play alone in the room without the little brother. It’s still his room.”

Idea: Set expectations with the little brother. Tell him his brother needs the room for awhile and he needs to go get whatever toy/book he thinks he may need. Set up a game or put out some blocks in the living room to keep brother occupied. Your older child should be able to have the room to himself when a guest is over.

Issue: “My older child always gets in the car after daycamp and proceeds to tell me all the things his little brother did during the day. I feel like I need to reprimand my younger child but I don’t like that my older child is telling on him. What should I do?”

Idea: “Tell your older child that you and his brother will talk about his day later. In other words, don’t allow him to tell on his brother. That creates serious rivalry. Instead, direct your older child’s attention to his own day at camp.

Leave a Reply

